CEA Honours Industry Leaders in Sustainability and Corporate Responsibility

OTTAWA (November 7, 2018) Tomorrow, the Canadian Electricity Association (CEA) will honour industry leaders in sustainability and corporate responsibility at an award ceremony in Ottawa.

“This year’s winners exemplify yet again the electricity sector’s longstanding commitment to advancing innovative and sustainable business practices,” said the Honourable Sergio Marchi, President and CEO of CEA.

Sustainable Electricity is a sector-wide initiative implemented jointly by CEA and its members that promotes the integration of sustainable, responsible policies in business decision-making, and continuous improvement of environmental, social, and economic performance. The initiative is built on a foundation of a thorough and rigorous process involving all electricity member companies, as well as insight and leadership from a Public Advisory Panel.

The following recipients are being honoured with Sustainable Electricity™ awards, in recognition of their outstanding achievements in sustainability and corporate responsibility over the past year:

  • Award for Advancement of an Integrated Approach in Sustainability – Saint John Energy

In recognition of Saint John Energy’s undertaking and achievement of the Sustainable Electricity Company Brand Designation, the first company to earn this designation in eastern Canada.

  • Award for Commitment to Continuous Performance Improvement Through Projects, Programs and Initiatives in Sustainability – Ontario Power Generation

In recognition of OPG’s Transportation Electrification strategy that aims to leverage the company’s high non-emitting electricity generating portfolio to help decarbonize Ontario’s transportation sector.

  • Award for Leadership in External Collaboration and Partnerships in Sustainability – Toronto Hydro

In recognition of Toronto Hydro’s Metrolinx Battery Storage initiative, which will increase grid resiliency and contribute to the local community’s goal of becoming Toronto’s first “Net Zero” neighbourhood.

  • Award for Individual Leadership on Sustainability – Newfoundland Power

In recognition of Newfoundland Power’s efforts to promote sustainability both within Newfoundland Power and across the province.

For more information about CEA’s mandatory Sustainable Electricity program, visit our website.

– 30 –